IEC 2018

Resolution carried by IEC

This IEC notes the intensity and sharpness of the debates at this IEC meeting in relation to the issues in the Irish section. We reaffirm the democratic tradition of debate and discussion in the international and opposes any threat of a split.

[paragraph redacted]

However, the discussion has moved far beyond Ireland related issues. The IEC agrees on the need for a plan of democratic discussions, with documents, throughout the international on the issues of difference raised at the IEC, relating to our perspectives, orientation and interventions, questions of programme, methods and building. While important differences of approach have surfaced the IEC does not believe these represent fundamental issues of principle, and believe such an organised discussion in the best democratic traditions of the CWI can result in principled agreement and strengthening of our forces to face the historic challenges facing Marxism in the next period.

The IEC believes the IS and the leading comrades in the sections should review their responses in this particular situation to help ensure any lessons are learned. All comrades should also strive to improve and repair any damage in relations that has taken place in the interests of building the international.

The IEC notes the establishment of a faction including IS members who think there are fundamental political differences. The IEC agrees that the next World Congress will take place in 2020 in Belgium, with an IEC meeting at the end of August.

For the preparation of this congress we agree to form a Congress organising committee to oversee all aspects of the pre-congress debate period starting now, up to and including the congress. This committee will be comprised of 6 members on the basis of parity between the recently formed faction and other IEC members. We agree 3 members – Tom Crean, Danny Byrne and Eric Byl –from the IEC meeting and the newly formed faction to nominate 3 members.

Resolution was carried, supported by 24 full IEC members from Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, ChinaHong Kong-Taiwan, Cyprus, Greece, Ireland, Israel-Palestine, Nigeria, Russia, Sweden and the US